Blizzards & Blogging…making the best of a snowy situation and avoiding cabin fever

29 Dec

Wow, has it really been over two weeks since my last post???  Sorry, kids…between finishing up my grad project (got an “A”, thank you), holiday craziness, etc. , the time there seemed like it was slip-sliding away for a bit.

Until now, that is.

Winter Wonderland, my ass.

The Blizzard of 2010 (the post-Christmas Nor’easter which dumped over 30″ of snow on the Jersey Shore) has caused most New Jersey residents to take an extended pause.  Three days after the Boxing Day Blizzard (cute, huh?), it’s still terrible out there.  Major NJ highways are still closed due to abandoned cars that hindered snow plowing efforts.  Many residential streets are also not plowed, and some residents are still affected by power outages.   Grocery stores and gas stations are also affected due to delivery trucks being unable to make the daily rounds.

I am thankful to say that my family and I are not among those poor souls without power or food.  (That would be bad.)  Over the past three days, we have shoveled out half of our long driveway – enough for a one car-width path to back out to the street.  With my OCD personality, I calculated that we moved about a ton of snow…maybe more (think about a 10-lb scoop of snow and multiply that by 200 scoops…trust me, I was keeping track.)  And, I probably burned as many calories as a one-hour spin class!

It hasn’t been that bad, a minor inconvenience in the grand scheme of things.  (Except if I see one more Eyewitness News people-on-the-street interview of oblivious Upper West Siders who think the snow is “marvelous, we took baby Sophie for her first sleigh ride in Central Park..isn’t that a novelty har har”, I may puke.

My Mink Coat and Ski Mask shoveling ensemble. The Michelob hat adds a nice touch. Too much?

So in between shoveling, hot cocoa and Advil breaks, I’ve been catching up on a lot of movies.  I watched the first two Twilight movies on cable, and fell in love with those undead-stone-cold vampires so much, that I bought Eclipse-The Twilight Saga on pay per view. (Side note: I am now Team Edward all the way…love that R-Patz, but only in his golden eye, sparkly skin vampire get-up.) I watched Toy Story 3 with my brother and realized that I probably should stop watching Pixar movies, because they always seem to reduce me to a blubbering, sniveling cry-baby. (those POOR PLASTIC TOYS WERE GOING TO BE INCINERATED BECAUSE OF AN EVIL, JADED CARE-BEAR NAMED LOTSO-LOVIN’!!! OH THE HUMANITY! WHY DOES PIXAR ALWAYS TAKE CUTE CHARACTERS AND MAKE THEM CONFRONT DEATH AND MORTALITY WITHIN A SEEMINGLY INNOCUOUS ANIMATED PACKAGE???…sorry I ruined it for you, btw.)

"All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" - The Shining

After watching these intense emotional experiences (cut me some slack here…we’re starting to get cabin fever a la Jack Nicholson in The Shining), I decided that it was time for some light comedic fare.  Julie & Julia, which is based on the Julie Powell memoir of the same name and Julia Child’s autobiography My Life in France, did just that.  Meryl Streep absolutely nailed the performance, affecting many of Child’s mannerisms and that distinctive voice.  (My poor mother had to deal with me talking in a Julia Child voice for over two hours after that movie.)  I thought Amy Adams did the best she could with the role she was given.  I have read Powell’s book, and I found her year-long Julie/Julia blog project (mastering Child’s 524 recipes in Mastering the Art of French Cooking within 365 days) to be irritating at best and narcissistic at its worst.

But wait, isn’t that what blogging is all about? Lately it is all about me, me, me, me, me and chronicling my thirtysomething life after a personally tumultuous year.    And if I didn’t want people to read about it, shouldn’t I just be keeping a journal then?  So maybe, Julie Powell isn’t all wrong…even if I couldn’t empathize with her when her stuffed chicken went splat on the floor and she had a major meltdown.  At least she stuck to her project, and saw it to the end (and got a sweet book deal as a result!)  And for some reason, there are people (strangers I might add…people besides my mom!) out there who want to read my blog (at least, that’s what my WordPress stats say.)

So in that spirit (and cause New Year’s is right around the corner), I resolve to write at least one new post each week in 2011, as long as you’ll have me.  Have a Happy and safe night out there…I’ll check in with you in ’11 to tell you about my Bridge & Tunnel (NYC) New Year’s adventure.

One Response to “Blizzards & Blogging…making the best of a snowy situation and avoiding cabin fever”

  1. Laura January 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Looking forward to following you 🙂

Leave a Reply

